The foundation stone of this institute was laid in the year 1962 by the then distinguished industrialist respected Late Shri Sudhir Kumar Sen in the outskirts of Asansol. Shri Sudhir Kumar Sen was also founder of world class cycle manufacturer factory popularly known as Raleigh Cycle. Later with the aim of impart education among the children of this localities Shri Sen established Kanyapur Education Society under the umbrella of which a technical education institute was established on 16th July,1962 1965 named as Sudhir Sen Polytechnic. At that time three years diploma course of Mechanical Engineering and Electrical Engineering were stated. After few years this institute offered four years Licencing course in Mechanical Engineering(LME) and Electrical Engineering(LEE).

After thirteen years of its inception this polytechnic was undertaken by Government of West Bengal in the year 1978 on 17th May 1979. Since then this technical institute name is Kanyapur Polytechnic. Honourable Shri B.Bari was the first principle of this polytechnic after government undertaken.Diploma course in Computer Science & Technology was started in the year 2007. At present this polytechnic offers three years diploma course in Mechanical Engineering(DME), Electrical Engineering(DEE) & Computer Science & Technology(DCST).

Translate the Invention, Aims & Ambition into Existence

We boost the outreach of education and training by introducing flexibility and technology-based knowledge and penetrate exuberantly arched for better development.